• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

A visit in Wonderland

Myra

Hello,
Myra here. I'm a newbie. About to turn 40 in November. Pretty much I was born overweight. Life throws us lots of curve balls. Things rarely work out as we plan or dream when we are younger. I am a dreamer. I have always wanted children. As a young girl instead of thinking about boys, I thought about my children. As a young lady, instead of dreaming of the perfect wedding and the perfect man. I thought of my perfect children. But I had no time for the Dating game and never dated. The whole idea of Dating just did not appeal to me. I wanted the right man. Just didn't want to bother with weeding them out. Mamma said he wasn't going to fall from the sky and land in my lap...but he did.
I was always a bit chunky, not over weight at first. But in the winter of 1983 at the age of 9. I got burned with boiling water. I spent 18 days in the hospital being spoiled by the nurses. I gained 30 pounds. And another 30 lbs every year afterwards till I went into High School. I developed a fear of driving and never got my liscense.
By mid October 1996 things had gotten much worse for me. I was sleeping between 15 and 20 hours per day. If I was awake I was very irritable and hard to live with. I didn't work.....Not because I hadn't tried. I had no insurance and hadn't been to the Dr. in years. I had a seizure one night. Later at the Hospital.... Dr said I had a Grand Mal seizure and the worst case of Hypothyroidism he had ever seen, as well as High cholesterol, and Edema. Later I was also Diagnosed with PCOS. Insulin resistance, borderline diabetes, infertility.