• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Starting out: How do you gain momentum?

HoJo

I am an absolute newby in a 6-month bariatric surgery program. But, like many others, not new to unsuccessful dieting for a gazillion years. How do others start to "diet" again and deal with the hunger and headaches that are associated with eating less? My brain kind of knows things might be different this time. I hope I'm approved for surgery and finally lose a good amount of weight. But the same old feelings of frustration crash in as I start writing down everything I eat and drink and count every step I take. My head knows I need to learn a new way of running my life, but it's hard getting my heart into it so early in the game. Does or did anyone else feel like this when they started out? How did you get yourself motivated and going? I would appreciate any help or suggestions.:(

I found my failure was trying to change my life all at once. Every time I did, it all came crashing down. I used the time before surgery to gradually change my life and my eating habits. I first cut out my big habits. For me that was soda. I then cut down on my portion sizes. I finally cut out sugar. By the end, I was ready for my 2 week protein shake only diet. It was tough, don’t get me wrong, but a lot easier than it had been in the past. I think the fact that I was doing it to be successful at surgery helped a lot too. Good luck and keep us informed on how you are doing.