• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Need advice

Renee7878

I had sleeve surgery yesterday and all went well. Have been able to get up and walk around. However I occasionally feel crampy like I am going to throw up. It typically happens after I drink something. Is this normal? I had a tsp of protein shake and it happen.

@Renee7878 congrats on making it through surgery as I am 2 weeks out post op I have no experienced vomiting I can say that crampy feeling is normal especially early on but now as I try to eat soft and puree' I am still alarmed as food goes down as I feel full easily and make sure I don't over eat I haven't has any nausea or vomiting but im sure someone that has will be along soon to advise you on what or what not to, I really hope the subsides and its not constant wishing you the best and a speedy recovery

I had sleeve surgery yesterday and all went well. Have been able to get up and walk around. However I occasionally feel crampy like I am going to throw up. It typically happens after I drink something. Is this normal? I had a tsp of protein shake and it happen.
Congratulations on your new beginning. :) Yes, it is normal to have some cramping and nausea in the beginning. It will subside. Try to make yourself drink your water despite it. You need to stay hydrated even if you can't drink thicker things like protein shakes yet. I was only allowed clear fluids the first week post-op, maybe you should try that?

You are ready to start the next part of the journey congratulations. I never had issues with nausea. I was on clear liquids almost 2 weeks post- op. I’m on soft now, and so far so good. I’m suppose to be on soft for 2 week. But if I don’t feel
I’m ready for the next phase I will just stay on soft. Good luck glad to hear you are feeling a little better.

Last edited: