• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New and Confused

Hello everyone! I am new to the bariatric world I just had my surgery on September 18, 2019. I have a very supportive family at home and I am blessed to have a fantastic surgeon and office staff that are there for you every step of the way. Ive recently started solid foods and have found that it is a struggle to eat half a cup of food only; I’m full physically but mentally keep thinking “you can’t be full yet, you haven’t eaten enough” so I zest snother nite or two and end up in pain. Any suggestions you could share to help retrain my brain that a small amount of food is really enough would be greatly appreciated. I know it’s all mental but surely can’t be the only one facing this issue. I’m also struggling with cooking smaller portions so we don’t end up with tons of leftovers anymore! LOL anyone know of a good recipe website?

Hello everyone! I am new to the bariatric world I just had my surgery on September 18, 2019. I have a very supportive family at home and I am blessed to have a fantastic surgeon and office staff that are there for you every step of the way. Ive recently started solid foods and have found that it is a struggle to eat half a cup of food only; I’m full physically but mentally keep thinking “you can’t be full yet, you haven’t eaten enough” so I zest snother nite or two and end up in pain. Any suggestions you could share to help retrain my brain that a small amount of food is really enough would be greatly appreciated. I know it’s all mental but surely can’t be the only one facing this issue. I’m also struggling with cooking smaller portions so we don’t end up with tons of leftovers anymore! LOL anyone know of a good recipe website?

Welcome to the group and congrats on your surgery! :) Sounds like you have a great support system in place too.