• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Newbie... And Kinda Nervous

klutzy_ginger

Hello All,

My name is Ashley. I am currently a sophomore at Ohio University studying Music Therapy. I'm here today because, though I haven't fully made up my mind, I am really leaning towards having bariatric surgery in the upcoming years. I am 20 years old, which I know is really young, but I have been struggling with my weight since childhood. At the age of 6, I weighed 100 lbs and had my first run in with bullying. I was in kindergarten. Over the years, I have gone on diet after diet but nothing has worked. During middle school, I found out that I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). For those of you who are not familiar with the terminology, my body does not process carbohydrates properly, thus, rather than being converted into energy, they are turned into fats. It also can affect the way menstrual cycle works. In high school, I discovered that I have OCD. This week, I found out I have high blood pressure. I'm at my breaking point. I'm currently taking 4 medications. I feel like I'm too young for this. This past fall, my mother, who suffers from many of the same problems that I do, decided that she was going to get a gastric sleeve. I went with her to some of her nutritionist appointments and have also been to some of the informational groups with her. I think this may be my last option. I know that it's going to be a struggle, but with the support of my family I hope that I can make it through. My mother, who has lost almost 100 lbs since her surgery in September, looks amazing. It's something that I cannot help but be proud of. I know that I just wrote out my life story for you to read, but I am really looking for your ideas of what I can do and your advice for my future. Thanks for listening.

-Ashley

Hello All,